I have a the kind of brain that causes me to obsess over weird, quirky things for about a month and then forget about them.  Some obsessions last longer than others; writing and piano have been two constants for me.  Photography is more recent; for a while I was really into calligraphy; before that I did cross-stitches, which now decorate my room.

But one of my first “obsessions” or “hobbies” or whatever was quote-collecting.  I still do it, albeit more sporadically.  I have a green notebook full of quotes from books, movies, friends, Instagram, etc.  For a good while, I chose a “quote of the day” every moring as my mantra for that day.  Now, whenever I hear a quote I like I make a note of it in my iPod.  Once I’ve collected a good amount, I put them in my green quote book.

FullSizeRender-1

My infamous quote book

I will leave you with my most recent additions to my quote book.

One feels a thousand self-disgusts, of which the sum is…a dim, vague unrest.  ~Edmond Rostand; from Cyrano de Bergerac

I would fain die thus, some soft summer eve, making a pointed word for a good cause.  ~Edmond Rostand, from Cyrano de Bergerac

I play the notes as they are written, but it is God Who makes the music.  ~Johann Sebastian Bach

What are your favorite quotes?

Leave a Reply

