Should You Go on a Social Media Fast?

This is the first day of blogging I’ve had true writer’s block.  It feels like I’ve written about everything already.

Blog once a day, they said.  It’ll be fun, they said.

StockSnap_LPTFYXTH2O

Ok, so I love technology.  I love social media, and blogging, and connecting with people  across the world.  Yesterday, I went on a rare YouTube binge.  I’m watching a psychology crash course (((nerd))) and trying to keep up with my channel subscriptions.  It’s fun to read memes on Instagram, or shower thoughts on Twitter, or watch YouTube.  But is it fulfilling?

I feel like this is a VERY common topic.  Everyone on the internet is talking about how they need to get off the internet.  Heck, I’m just a person on the internet talking about how I need to get off the internet.

I watched a really convicting Blimey Cow video the other day entitled “What We Learned from the Roller Coaster Incident.”  Since then, I’ve kind of wondered if I should try a fast from the interweb.  Here’s the thing–I’m taking an online course right now, and blogging every day.  So I can’t avoid it entirely.  I feel like if I’m going to do this, I need to do it right.

BUT, if I wait until a convenient time to break up with the internet, that time will never come.  Once you become so dependent on something, there is never a “good” time to stop using it.  I guess it’s like any other addiction.  You just have to stop.

Have you tried a “social media fast?”  Should I?

2 thoughts on “Should You Go on a Social Media Fast?

Leave a Reply

