Howdy do, WordPressers!  As many of you already know, the day you’ve been planning for has come.  It’s a day you both love and dread.

nanowrimo-is-here

It’s called NaNoWriMo and it’s NOT a new type of rhinoceros.  It’s a month-long writers’ holiday–National Novel Writing Month.  NaNoWriMo lasts all November, and while I’m sure you’ve been plotting and planning for your novel for months now, I tend to be too overwhelmed with school to actually write an entire novel in a month.

So, instead I aim to write a little something every day–a paragraph in the book I’m working on, a blog post, or an article to send to a magazine.  (#freelance)

Speaking of freelancing, I received my first rejection letter yesterday–Halloween.  I wasn’t really expecting to get published, as this was the first article I’d ever submitted to a magazine.  Ironically, the letter was dated October 26, which is my birthday.

Do you have a great freelance rejection/submission story?  Leave me a comment and tell me about it.

What are you going to do for NaNoWriMo?  What’s your plan?  Are you going to write a whole novel?  You know what to do.  Leave me a comment.  Let’s talk about it.

 

One thought on “The Start of NaNoWriMo (and a rejection)

Leave a Reply

