Flowers!

This is the third post in my southern roots series.  For the previous posts, I have taken you around my grandparents’ yard and garden and showed you some artifacts from their home.  Now we’re moving on to next door, where my grandfather’s cousin lives in the family farmhouse.  In future posts we’ll be seeing the critters, including Maisie, the dog.  🙂

This post, however, is about flowers!  Their yard is bursting with colors in full bloom.  This arch with the climbing flowers is one of my favorites.

img_4342

These rose bushes made for a whimsical picture paired with the garden flag in the background.  It almost looks as if the cat is pawing at a leaf!

img_4347

I’m not sure what kind of flower this is, but it was on a huge bush by the red barn and the sunlight was hitting it so beautifully that I just had to snap a picture.

img_4383

This is not a flower.  It is a tree.  But it is so huge, and had such a cute swing hanging from it, I thought it should be shared.

img_4369

img_4366

This picture, again featuring the huge old tree in the foreground, is the one I would put on the cover of Southern Living if it were up to me.

img_4433

This is a close-up of the arch we saw earlier.  You can see the chickens in the background.img_4343

A great example of how a planter can brighten up a backyard.

img_4394

I have so many more flower pictures, and they’re all pretty self-explanatory, so I put them into this collage.  Enjoy!

Thank you for reading and enjoying!  Hopefully these pictures have pulled you closer to your southern roots, or a least made you wish you had southern roots.  If you liked, be sure to click like; if you want more, be sure to click follow.  If you want other people to read this post too, be sure to share!  The next post will be The Farmhouse.  Stay tuned!!

2 thoughts on “Flowers!

Leave a Reply

