Proof that God has a great sense of humor (the commercial that made me question the sanity of people in general)

Well, a lot of commercials do that, but one in particular has recently made me pray, “Even so, come.”

It was a normal evening, the first time I saw it. I was watching a game show. This guy had just solved a puzzle. The host was congratulating him. Then the host turned to face the camera.

“We’ll be back right after this,” he said. “Don’t go away.”

I didn’t. I stayed where I was and watched as a commercial came on. For cars.

It started like a movie commercial. Drama. Blood. Archery. Then a big SUV splashed down a wooded hill and into a stream, throwing up sprays of water. Then the movie commercial again.

“What is up with this?” I thought.

“Ram solutes the heroes of the Hunger Games,” a man’s deep voice as a big black truck rolled across the screen. He said something else too. I don’t remember, which is queer since they now play it back to back.

Let me tell you something. First of all,

  • Trucks, SUVs and the Hunger Games always go together.

And second of all,

  • Associating vehicles with the Hunger Games made me desperately want a new car.

I didn’t even know what to say. I still don’t.

Good grief.

God is in control, I told myself, laughing at the absurdity of life.

One thought on “Proof that God has a great sense of humor (the commercial that made me question the sanity of people in general)

Leave a Reply

